How to Remember Every Name Every Time – Guaranteed!

Photo of Tippy Walker from the television prog...

The best advice I ever got when starting my seminar business was when I attended a seminar by Bob Burg (Endless Referrals) years ago. He said that if you want to really impress someone, remember their name.

Bob said that he can remember the names of a roomful of people, and that after the program or when going to a cocktail party, he amazes them by calling them by name. He said he attracts people to him like a magnet. He’s like a name magician.

Taking Bob’s advice, I learned how to remember names and faces. I’ve done hundreds of seminars in hundreds of ballrooms across the country. I’m not as good as Bob. I have to work at remembering the names and faces. But I remember enough to amaze the crowds. I can’t count the number of times people have come up to me during one of the breaks or after the seminar and said, “How do you do that? How do you remember so many names? We loved your program, but your ability to remember names was all we could talk about at lunch.”

I’m not going to show you how I do it in this one article. But I will tell you three books I’ve used to teach myself: Remember Every Name Every Time, by Benjamin Levy; Amazing Face Reading, by Mac Fulfer; and The Wisdom of Your Face, by Jean Haner. The last two books are good because they get you to look more closely at the details of someone’s face, so you can tie-in the techniques used by Benjamin Levy.

But don’t fret. If you don’t have the time – or you’re too lazy – to read the books and apply their techniques, here is the easiest way I know to absolutely remember everyone’s name. It’s quick, easy, and guaranteed. This works especially well if you’re doing a group presentation in front of a crowd of hundreds.

At the start of the program, introduce yourself. “Hi, I’m Jerry Hocutt.”

Pause.

“Now, to personalize our meeting today, let’s try this. Repeat after me: ‘My name is Peyton.’”

Crowd: “My name is Peyton.”

There you go. Now whenever you call on any audience member during the program, you know their name is Peyton. That wasn’t so hard, was it?

Say someone’s name and you’ll always get their attention: People will remember that you remembered them more than they’ll remember anything you said in the presentation.

