Make It Up As You Go

Sales, cold calling, and networking are more about attitude than answers. And what stops us is not that we don’t have the answers, it’s that we don’t get started. We don’t cold call because we’re thinking, “I’ll screw up. What if he asks me a question I can’t answer? I’ll look stupid.” We don’t go to networking functions because “I don’t like small talk. I won’t know what to say.”

Trust me, when you get in front of the people, you’ll come through. You’ll improvise. If need be, you’ll make it up as you go. And that’s a great attitude to have before any venturing out.

Life is improvisation: The right attitude allows you to do the hardest thing – get started. The answers will come when the questions are asked. Problems will be solved once they’re presented.

