Screwed

Screw

Doing prep work with a local account (a screw and bolt manufacturing company) to gather material for our training session, I asked the owner what he looked for in people applying for sales positions with his company.

“I ask them to tell me the latest three business books they’ve read and what they learned from them,” he said.

How does this help to qualify or disqualify an applicant?

The owner said that 70% of the applicants can’t name three books. In fact, many have told him that they don’t even read books.

“Once I hear that,” said the owner, “I show them the door. They’re wasting my time. It shows they have no curiosity, they think they have all the answers, they don’t take the initiative to learn on their own, and they don’t respect the art of sales. No one is so smart that they can stop learning.”

People aren’t looking for reasons to hire you. They’re looking for reasons to eliminate you. And they can often do it with one well-conceived question.

The nuts & bolts: You can never learn enough. Knowledge improves your relationships, business, decisions, and leadership.

